Human Rights Council elections

Published on November 25, 2019

The UN General Assembly recently elected 14 new Human Rights Council members for a period of three years starting in January 2020.

The new Council members are Armenia, Brazil, Germany, Indonesia, Japan, Libya, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Namibia, Netherlands, Poland, Republic of Korea, Sudan, and Venezuela. Among these States, Armenia, Marshall Islands and Sudan will be members for the first time in 2020, while Brazil and Japan will be staying on for a second term. You can read each new member’s voluntary pledges by clicking on their name above.

The outgoing members retiring on 31 December 2019 are China, Croatia, Cuba, Egypt, Hungary, Iceland, Iraq, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Tunisia and the United Kingdom.

                                                                               Human Rights Council Membership in 2020

Table showing the HRC membership in 2020